Menu

Meet the Academic Steering Committee

Statement of Purpose

 The Academic Steering Committee will identify what is needed to ensure that the Academy constantly remains at the forefront in preparing students to develop portfolios that are relevant to meet the needs of the global marketplace: 

  1. Contribute ideas for Academy-wide curriculum initiatives and improvements.
  2. Identify innovative curricular and cross-departmental opportunities.
  3. Engage in future thinking on the curriculum. (i.e. Where are we going to be in the next five years?)
  4. Serve as a think tank on the intersection of art and technology and identify emerging technologies and trends to enable the Academy to stay ahead of the curve.

The Academic Steering Committee will hear issues dealing with department and curriculum concerns as well as brilliant new ideas for the University. Feel free to contact any member listed below or e-mail us at: academicsteeringcommittee@academyart.edu.

ACADEMIC STEERING COMMITTEE  (ASC) MEMBERS

Bill Maughan, Chair - Graduate Director, Illustration - wmaughan@academyart.edu

Jan Yanehiro, Vice Chair - Director, Communications & Media Technologies - jyanehiro@academyart.edu

Joan Bergholt, Secretary - Vice President, Institutional Effectiveness and Director of Program Review - jbergholt@academyart.edu

Alana Addison, Vice President - Evaluation and Coaching - aaddison@academyart.edu

Ryan Baldwin, Director - Photography - rbaldwin@academyart.edu

Antonio Borja, Associate Director - Industrial Design - aborja@academyart.edu

Eileen Everett, Academic Vice President - Liberal Arts - eeverett@academyart.edu

David Goodwine, Executive Director - Game Development - dgoodwine@academyart.edu

Ryan Medeiros, Director - Web Design & New Media - rmedeiros@academyart.edu

Craig Nelson, Executive Director - Fine Art - cnelson@academyart.edu

Andrea Pimentel, Director - Advertising - apimentel@academyart.edu

Sue Rowley, Chief Academic Officer - srowley@academyart.edu

Gordon Silveria, Director - Art Technology - gsilveria@academyart.edu

Melissa Sydeman, Academic Vice President - Entertainment and Broadcast Media - msydeman@academyart.edu

Thomas Durham, Director of Sculpture - Fine Art - tdurham@academyart.edu

Nicolas Villarreal, Director - Visual Development - nvillarreal@academyart.edu


Departments Represented by ASC Members

Joan Bergholt, Fashion

Antonio Borja, Architecture, Interior Architecture & Design, Landscape Architecture

Eileen Everett, Art History, English for Art Purposes, Liberal Arts, Art Education and Online Education

Craig Nelson, Jewelry & Metal Arts

Andrea Pimentel, Graphic Design

Gordon Silveria, Animation

Melissa Sydeman, Acting, Music, Motion Pictures & Television, Writing for Film, Television & Digital Media

Alana Addison, Foundations